CO221: Week 4 &5

Viewing 1: Helvetica 

helveticaposter

I really enjoyed the 2007 documentary Helvetica. This documentary was directed by Gary Hustwit. I learned how Helvetica came to be as a font that we see everywhere now. I didn’t realize how popular it was used. I didn’t know why people favored this font so much – now i know. On my macbook, I automatically have Helvetica as my default font. I really like how clean it is and how it is easily readable. It is more casual than Times New Roman, which is the font that I use for my essays. As a individual who writes stories, I am picky very with the typographies and fonts that I use. I like to start with a clean page and have a neat font to work with. I really like Helvetica, especially since I now know how much work and effort was put into it. Helvetica is calming to read and see on paper or on screen. I like using it when I write and do assignments! I also began to realize that the Regis College Moodle page is also in Helvetica – but in Neue. In the attachment below, I copied and pasted the Viewing 1 forum into Microsoft Word and it says that it uses Helvetica Neue. For my notepad, the default font is in Helvetica.

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 11.41.20 PM

I also noticed that my American Apparel Cities Tote has Helvetica (Bold?) on it as well!

img59394420

Leave a comment